CareCost CareCost Estimate

Lupron Depot coverage requirements

Check what the payer requires before you schedule Lupron Depot.

Prior authorization · duration limits · clinical prerequisites · dosing

20 of 30 payer policy sets hold a leuprolide acetate policy · source-linked · reviewed August 2026

Check this patient’s coverage

Aetna + endometriosis is shown as a live example until you choose a payer.

Lupron Depot is covered for Endometriosis — criteria apply

Aetna commercial · Policy 0501 · effective 2026-07-10 · verified August 2026

View source policy ↗

Prior authorization
Criteria-based
coverage criteria reviewed before payment
Clearance checks
5 apply
Site of care
No restriction found

5 things to clear before treatment

  • ⚠ Prior authorization
  • ✓ Covered indication
  • ⚠ Covered dosing (2)
  • ⚠ Reauthorization

Your Aetna clearance preview

1. Prior authorization

Aetna applies coverage criteria to leuprolide acetate before it pays rather than naming a separate PA step, so the same documentation must be ready before treatment.

2. Covered indication

Covered under ICD-10 N80.

Endometriosis - for initial treatment of endometriosis

4 more requirements apply to this patient

Prior authorization

1 check

Further approval conditions Aetna sets beyond the one shown above.

View requirement →

Covered dosing

1 check

Limits on amount, interval and duration beyond the standard schedule.

View requirement →

Additional dosing rule

1 check

Further limits on amount, interval or total duration.

View requirement →

Reauthorization

1 check

How often approval has to be renewed, and what evidence a renewal needs.

View requirement →

What opens in CareCost

Aetna · Lupron Depot · Endometriosis

1 reviewed here · 4 to open in CareCost
Prior authorization
Covered indication
Prior authorization
Covered dosing
Additional dosing rule
Reauthorization

For every requirement: the exact payer criteria, the source citation, a check-off, and a save to the patient’s chart.

In CareCost: check off each requirement · save to the patient · print for the chart

Finish this patient’s clearance

Aetna · Lupron Depot · Endometriosis

You have already checked the policy, indication and covered dose. Open the remaining requirements and work them as a patient checklist.

Free · No credit card · No sales call

Your payer, diagnosis and Lupron Depot policy will already be loaded.

CareCost tracks Lupron Depot coverage requirements across 20 payer policy sets.

Aetna · Anthem / Elevance · Cigna · UnitedHealthcare · Centene · Premera · BCBS plans + more

One patient. Keep going.

Coverage clearance is only the first step.

Coverage ✓
Requirements
→
Rate
Allowed amount
→
Benefits
Deductible + coinsurance
→
Assistance
Copay + foundations
→
Patient owes
Final estimate

CareCost carries the same patient through the entire workflow.

Finish this patient’s estimate →

Lupron Depot coverage reference

Coverage requirements vary by payer

17 of 20 commercial payers with a leuprolide acetate policy require prior authorization. Clinical prerequisites, duration limits and dosing rules vary by indication and by plan. Ten payers CareCost tracks (including Kaiser Permanente WA, Regence and Wellmark) carry no leuprolide acetate policy at all.

17 of 20 require PA · 5 of 20 require another product first · 2 restrict site of care · 7 rules address reauthorization

What payers commonly check before Lupron Depot

Prior authorization

Many commercial payers require approval before leuprolide acetate is purchased or administered.

Covered indication

Coverage depends on the diagnosis in the payer’s leuprolide acetate policy: endometriosis or uterine fibroids with anemia before surgery, each carrying its own duration limit.

Clinical prerequisites

Plans may require a documented trial of a contraceptive, an NSAID or depot medroxyprogesterone for endometriosis, or a failed month of iron alone for fibroids, before paying for leuprolide acetate.

Duration of therapy

Every commercial quantity limit in this corpus is written as a course length, not a milligram ceiling: commonly 3 to 6 months depending on the indication, sometimes with one renewal.

Covered dosing

The billed kit must match the diagnosis-specific policy criteria: 3.75 mg (1 unit) monthly or 11.25 mg (3 units) every 3 months. A claim billed at the prostate-cancer strengths is a different product (J9217), not Lupron Depot.

Site of care

A plan can also limit where the injection is given, requiring an office setting rather than allowing self-administration.

Reauthorization

Some payers cap the initial approval and require a new documented request to continue past it, most often for endometriosis; a fibroid course usually may not be renewed at all.

Add-back therapy for retreatment

Retreatment of endometriosis is labeled only in combination with norethindrone acetate 5 mg daily. Several payer reauthorization criteria name this add-back requirement directly rather than leaving it as a clinical recommendation only.

Payer policy snapshot: duration limits by payer (2026)

Lupron Depot has no biosimilar carrying a CMS payment limit under J1950, so payer policies do not set a preferred-product step the way they do for some other 96372 drugs. What every one of these policies sets instead is a duration: a maximum course length, written in months or in kits, that governs how long the payer will keep paying regardless of the diagnosis.

Leuprolide acetate quantity-limit and reauthorization language at six commercial payers CareCost has read.
PayerIndicationDuration limitRenewal
Aetna
Commercial
Endometriosis / Fibroids “lifetime maximum of 12 months total” (endometriosis retreatment) / “lifetime maximum of 6 months total” (fibroids) Retreatment is covered inside the same lifetime cap
Anthem / Elevance
Commercial
Endometriosis “3.75 mg, 7.5 mg 1 kit per 4 weeks” “Retreatment: A single course may be approved for 6 months. Total duration of therapy should not exceed 12 months”
Florida Blue
Commercial
Endometriosis / Fibroids “dosage does not exceed 3.75 mg every 4 weeks (28 days) or 11.25 mg every 12 weeks (84 days)” Not stated in the policy language CareCost has read
BCBS Minnesota
Commercial
Endometriosis / Fibroids “3 billable units every 84 days” for both indications Endometriosis “may be renewed up to one time only for 6 months”; fibroids “may NOT be renewed”
Premera
Commercial
Endometriosis “Initial approval will be for 90-days. Note: Coverage for Lupron Depot 4-month and 6-month formulations will be prohibited” Not stated in the policy language CareCost has read
UnitedHealthcare
Commercial
Endometriosis / Fibroids “Initial treatment course is limited to a maximum of 6 months” (endometriosis) / “no more than 3 months” (fibroids) “Duration of both the initial and recurrent course of therapies is no longer than 12 months total”
The two indications do not renew the same way: at BCBS Minnesota and Capital BlueCross, an endometriosis course may be renewed once for 6 months, but a fibroid course “may NOT be renewed”; the same 3-units-per-84-days limit sits under two different reauthorization rules depending on the diagnosis on the claim.
Same J-code, two very different unit counts: the 3.75 mg 1-month kit is 1 unit of J1950; the 11.25 mg 3-month kit is 3 units on a single line. Billing the 3-month kit as 1 unit under-reports the drug by two-thirds; billing it as 11.25 units over-reports it threefold and approaches the 12-unit-per-day MUE.

What to document for a duration exception or retreatment

Original Medicare

No prior authorization for Part B leuprolide acetate. Coverage follows the diagnosis codes in the Medicare policy: the governing local coverage determinations are published in the CMS Medicare Coverage Database, and a MAC can differ from its neighbour on the same drug.

This is the Original Medicare answer. A Medicare Advantage plan still administers the same Part B benefit, though it may add its own prior-authorization and preferred-product requirements on top; confirm that plan’s specific policy rather than assuming the Original Medicare rules below carry over.

Show Medicare diagnosis codes ▾
IndicationICD-10Notes
EndometriosisN80.9Initial course capped at 6 months by the label; retreatment only with norethindrone acetate add-back
Uterine leiomyomata (fibroids) with anemia, before surgeryD25.9Used with iron therapy; label caps the preoperative course at 3 months

What your MAC’s LCD requires

Coverage of injectable GnRH agonists is set by whichever local coverage determination your MAC publishes, and a MAC can differ from its neighbor on covered diagnosis codes and documentation. Check your specific MAC’s published LCD rather than assume any single set of requirements applies nationally. Search the CMS Medicare Coverage Database →

The clinical prerequisites that are real, and where they come from

These prerequisite trials are not set by a Medicare LCD; they are common in commercial policy. UnitedHealthcare requires “Contraindication, intolerance, or failure of initial treatment with both of the following: Oral contraceptives or depot medroxyprogesterone… and Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)” for endometriosis. Cigna will approve after “A contraceptive (e.g., combination oral contraceptives, levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine systems …), OR” a similar trial. BCBS South Carolina requires a “trial of at least 6 months, or history of intolerance or contraindication to” danazol or a combination oral contraceptive.

Payer citation language above is drawn from CareCost’s own leuprolide acetate policy corpus (20 payers). Check the specific payer’s language →

Frequently asked questions

Does Lupron Depot require prior authorization?

It depends on the payer and plan. 17 of the 20 commercial leuprolide acetate policies CareCost has read require prior authorization before Lupron Depot is covered; most of the rest require a documented trial of another product first. Check this patient’s payer →

Is Lupron Depot covered for endometriosis and fibroids?

Endometriosis is a covered indication under all 20 leuprolide acetate policies CareCost has read, and uterine fibroids with anemia before surgery under 18 of them: each with its own duration limit and clinical prerequisites. Check coverage →

How long will a payer cover Lupron Depot for?

Every commercial quantity limit in the corpus is written as a course length, not a milligram ceiling: commonly 6 months for an initial endometriosis course and 3 months for a fibroid course, with a single renewal available for endometriosis at most payers. Check duration limits →

How do I know what documentation to submit?

Start with the specific prerequisite the Lupron Depot diagnosis calls for: a documented contraceptive or NSAID trial for endometriosis, a failed month of iron alone for fibroids, the planned surgery date, or, for endometriosis retreatment, the norethindrone acetate add-back the label requires. CareCost turns the applicable payer policy into a patient-level checklist showing each requirement, what to confirm, and the source language supporting it. Open patient clearance →

Sources

Data current: payer policies Aug 2026 · reviewed dates come from each payer

CareCost draws each requirement from the payer's own medical and specialty-drug policy documents: prior-authorization criteria, preferred-product rules and clinical coverage criteria, with Medicare coverage read from the CMS Medicare Coverage Database. Every requirement links back to its source policy.